Report: Hopkins Protests Northwestern Game, Controversial Late Goal

Johns Hopkins coach Janine Tucker has formally filed a protest with the Big Ten Conference, according to the Baltimore Sun’s Kathy Dunn.

The protest asserts that the goal in question came after time had expired in the March 30th tilt. The Sheila Nesselbush shot, which was ruled a goal by the referees onsite, pushed the game into overtime — a period in which the Wildcats struck first, ultimately taking home the 10-9 overtime win.

A closer look at the shot in slow motion shows that the ball is still in Nesselbush’s stick as time had expired. The NCAA rule book, Section 9c, stipulates that “a goal is not scored when the ball enters the goal after the whistle has blown or the horn sounds.”

According to Dunn, this is the first time Janine Tucker has protested a game in her illustrious 24 year career at the helm of the Blue Jays.

“The protest rules exist for this very reason. I am hopeful that by following the protocol to protest the outcome of this game, something good can come from all of this,” Tucker told the Baltimore Sun.

She continued: “I felt compelled, given the situation, the video evidence, just knowing that it was physically impossible for a person to throw a ball that far in that amount of time, and I needed to fight for my team.”

On March 31st, we posted a slow-motion clip of the shot in question and asked fans if they thought the shot was a goal or not. An overwhelming 80% of fans voted “no goal.”

Next ArticleNew NCAA recruiting rules = better college matches