Who’d Make Up the Mount Rushmore of Loyola Men’s Lacrosse?


Loyola Maryland’s Men’s Lacrosse has always produced top players in the NCAA. Below are the four fantastic players that made the cut for the consideration of “Who would make up the ‘Mount Rushmore’ of Loyola Maryland’s Men’s Lacrosse.

1. Defenseman Joe Fletcher (2011-14) – Finalist for the Tewaaraton Award – college lacrosse’s version of the Heisman Trophy – and only the second defenseman in the award’s 15-year history to be named a finalist… Winner of the William C. Schmeisser Award given to the country’s outstanding defenseman in 2014… One of the university’s two multiple first-team All-Americans, in 2013 and 2014… Third in school history in career caused turnovers with 76.

2. Midfielder Mark Frye (1996-99) – University’s first two-time first-team All-American in 1998 and 1999… 12th in school history in all-time goals with 93… Greyhounds went 42-13 with Frye on the team and advanced to the NCAA tournament quarterfinals in each of his last three seasons.

3. Attackman Gary Hanley (1978-81) – Three-time All-American who achieved first-team status in 1981… School record-holder in career points (311), goals (151), and assists (160)…. Owner of top three single-season performances in points (89 in 1981, 86 in 1980, and 83 in 1979) and three of top four in assists (45 each in 1980 and 1979 and 42 in 1981)… Sparkplug who registered five goals and two assists in the 1981 squad’s 17-14 loss to Adelphi in the NCAA Division II tournament final.

4. Attackman Mike Sawyer (2009, 2011-13) – University’s first finalist for the Tewaaraton Award in 2012… Three-time All American who earned second-team status in 2012 when that team captured the Division I national championship… Third in school history in career goals (128) and first in shots attempted (451)… Second in team history in goals in a single season with 52 in 2012.

Others in consideration were attackmen Tim Goettelmann, Eric Lusby and Justin Ward, midfielder Gavin Prout, long-stick midfielders Matt Dwan and P.T. Ricci and goalkeepers Tim McGeeney and Charley Toomey. Unfortunately, with only four spots available, some difficult decisions had to be made.

Agree? Disagree? Feel free to chime in with your thoughts by following and tweeting @ConnectLAX


  1. I think one player that does not receive enough recognition on the 2012 National Championship winning team is Eric Lusby. Dynamic lefty attackman who came off an injury the season before to set a single season record of 54 goals, 17 of which in the NCAA tournament. Any objections?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here