Taylor Cummings Wins THIRD Tewaaraton Award!

Taylor Cummings

Thursday, June 2nd, Taylor Cummings was announced as the 2016 Tewaaraton Winner, which came as no surprise to anyone following women’s college lacrosse this year. The senior midfielder has been a powerhouse for Maryland ever since her freshman season in the spring of 2013. She is the first ever, man or woman, to win the Tewaaraton Award three times, and only the fourth woman’s player to win the Tewaaraton in consecutive seasons. This year she broke Maryland’s record for the most draw controls and caused turnovers in a single season. She’s also on several of Maryland’s all-time record lists including 2nd in points, 1st in draw controls, 3rd in goals, and 9th in assists. She finished her collegiate career with only four losses, one being to UNC last weekend in the NCAA Championship.

When Cummings was talking about her senior season last month she said,

“I’ve tried to appreciate every moment, every practice, every game.”

And this is what makes her the BEST. Cummings is arguably the best woman’s collegiate player in history. She loves the sport she plays and cherishes every moment of it. While some players tread the line of being burnt out at this point in their career, Cummings loved every second of the process.

Maryland’s atmosphere is one that inspires excellence within its players; teammates push one another to be the best players they can be. Their drive to succeed makes them, consistently, one of the best teams in Division I of the NCAA. Cummings leaves behind a legacy at Maryland, but younger players like Megan Whittle are ready to continue the legacy on.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here